Southern Stars aim for seventh World Cup

Our national women’s cricket team, the Southern Stars, will head to England at the end of the month to compete in the 2017 World Cup.

Australia has a proud history on the World Cup stage having won six of the 10 tournaments to date.

(Australia's 2013 World Cup winning team. PHOTO: Getty Images)

With Lauren Cheatle ruled out through injury and retirement of Rene Farrell, the Australian pace attack will have new-look with the additions of uncapped fast bowlers Sarah Aley and Belinda Vakarewa.

Off-spinning all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner has also claimed a spot in the squad. The 19-year-old made her debut for Australia against New Zealand in March.

Another notable inclusion is batter Rachael Haynes who made her return to the Australian team this year; her first ODI since 2013.

Australia World Cup squad: Sarah Aley, Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell (vc), Nicole Bolton, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning (c), Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

The Southern Stars will begin their campaign to win a record seventh World Cup on June 26 against the West Indies.

England, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will join Australia at the tournament. Each team plays each other once before the semi finals in Bristol and Derby. The final will be played at Lord’s on July 23.

Australia’s Match Schedule:

Warm-up matches

June 20: Australia v South Africa, Oakham

June 22: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester


June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton

June 29: Australia v Sri Lanka, Bristol

July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol

July 5: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester

July 9: Australia v England, Bristol

July 12: Australia v India, Bristol

July 15: Australia v South Africa, Taunton

July 18: First semi-final, Bristol

July 20: Second semi-final, Derby

July 23: Final, Lord's

Last month the International Cricket Council confirmed that the prize pool for the World Cup has been doubled to $US2 million and that for the first time ever, fans will be able to watch every ball of the tournament live. 10 matches will be televised, with the remaining 21 matches to be live-streamed by the ICC.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square