Debbie Lee and Bec Goddard to coach State of Origin sides

The AFL today announced that Debbie Lee and Bec Goddard will coach the Victorian and Allies teams in the NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin match during the ‘Celebration of Football’ week.

(Debbie Lee at a Melbourne training session. PHOTO: AFL Photos)

The match will be played at 7.40pm on Saturday September 2 at Etihad Stadium and will be broadcast live across the country on the Seven Network and Fox Footy. Like the inaugural AFLW season, entry to the match will be free of charge.

The initial squads for the game are based on the 2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women’s All Australian squad. Additional players are to be announced in the coming weeks. Selection is also based on where a player is born, not which state they are currently playing in.

In a statement, Debbie Lee said she was excited to be coaching the Victorian team.

“It’s great to see the tradition of State of Origin football continued. It has always been revered by football supporters and the women’s match will be no different, she said.

“Following the success of the NAB AFL Women’s season I would encourage all footy fans to come along and watch.

“Playing the match at Etihad Stadium will allow football supporters to see the best of the best and it will be a highlight of the Celebration of Football week.

(Debbie Lee presents Bec Goddard with a premiership medal at the AFLW Grand Final. PHOTO: AFL Photos)

Fresh from coaching the undefeated Under 18 Allies team, Bec Goddard said she was looking forward to taking on Victoria.

“Coaching in South Australia, I understand how passionate South Australians are about their footy and nothing burns deeper than a fierce contest against Victoria,” Goddard said.

“The match will be a great spectacle, it’s a great way to kick off September and showcase women’s football.”

To complete the showcase of women’s football, an Under-18 State of Origin match will be played as a curtain-raiser featuring players in the All Australian squad. The NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 All Australian team will be announced after the match.

Victorian Squad

Sarah Perkins - Adelaide

Kaitlyn Ashmore - Brisbane

Brianna Davey - Carlton

Darcy Vescio - Carlton

Alison Downie - Carlton

Danielle Hardiman - Carlton

Nicola Stevens - Carlton

Sarah D'Arcy - Collingwood

Jess Cameron - Collingwood

Kara Donnellan - Fremantle

Jess Dal Pos - GWS Giants

Alicia Eva - GWS Giants

Karen Paxman - Melbourne

Daisy Pearce - Melbourne

Melissa Hickey - Melbourne

Lily Mithen - Melbourne

Jasmine Grierson - Melbourne

Ellie Blackburn - Western Bulldogs

Emma Kearney - Western Bulldogs

Hannah Scott - Western Bulldogs

Allies Squad

Chelsea Randall - Adelaide

Erin Phillips - Adelaide

Ebony Marinoff - Adelaide

Courtney Cramey - Adelaide

Sabrina Frederick-Traub - Brisbane

Emily Bates - Brisbane

Tayla Harris - Carlton

Emma Zielke - Brisbane

Jess Wuetschner - Brisbane

Kate McCarthy - Brisbane

Leah Kaslar - Brisbane

Sam Virgo - Brisbane

Emma King - Collingwood

Ebony Antonio - Fremantle

Kirby Bentley - Fremantle

Dana Hooker - Fremantle

Erin McKinnon - GWS Giants

Emma Swanson - GWS Giants

Renee Tomkins - GWS Giants

Elise O'Dea - Melbourne


#AFLW #AdelaideCrows #Melbourne

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square